Makeup Looks · Product review

Back To School Inspired Makeup Look Using Affordable Products

Hello everybody,

So it’s that dreaded time of the year again when many of you have to go back to school. I’m done with school (wohoo!) but trust me, i know the struggle of having to get back into the school routine after the summer break. I also know the struggle of wanting to look your best on the first day of school (let’s get real, we’re too lazy to care about how we look for the rest of the year). Keeping that in mind, i decided to do a back to school inspired makeup look that is easy to do and can be done using affordable products.

image1

I want to mention some of my essentials that i used to create this look and that i think would be helpful for any BTS makeup look.

This is the Maybelline baby skin instant pore eraser primer($6.99) and i absolutely love it. This primer does such a good job at blurring out the pores and making your skin look flawless. It’s colorless and it has a gel like consistency however it’s not sticky or greasy as it absorbs into your skin and you can barely feel anything. It gives a matte finish so i don’t know how it would work for dry skin but mine is combination skin and it works well for me. I love this as a base for my foundation and the rest of my makeup!

image1 (1)

I recently purchased this Bourjois healthy mix foundation ( i got it for 99dhs from boots in UAE which seems like a lot but it will last you for quite a while). I had heard a lot of good reviews about this foundation and i am glad i got it because i absolutely love it. This is perfect for BTS because it has buildable coverage. If you apply one coat it looks pretty natural which is perfect for school. It also gives a matte finish and it does not make me feel oily throughout the day which is again suitable for school. I definitely recommend this foundation.

image2

I have raved about this product before and yes i am still in love with it! The Elf High Definition Undereye Setting Powder ($6) is perfect for setting your under eyes after applying concealer. I always had a problem with my concealer creasing or rubbing off throughout the day but after using this, i’ve never had that problem again. Also, it does not have that white cast when taking flash photos which a lot of white powders do. Its super affordable and will be helpful in keeping your under eye makeup in place all day at school.

image3

I love the Maybelline Eyestudio Lasting Drama Gel Liner ($9.99) in blackest black.I feel like most liquid/gel liners just fade on my lids throughout the day. If you are looking for a good eyeliner which is not waterproof but stays on, give this a try. Also, a great tip for gel liners when they get too dry (which mine recently did) is to put a few drops of any eye drops that you own in it and voila it’s as good as new! I know a lot of people wouldn’t wear a cat eye or wing to school but i always loved wearing it to school. You can do a small wing if you don’t want anything too dramatic.

Now for the lips i went in with Colourpop ‘Bumble’ ($6).  I used that because i like the color however there are so many other options available for lips depending on whatever you are comfortable with. Colourpop is too drying sometimes so a better cheap option would be nyx. If you are uncomfortable wearing a liquid lip all day in school, just go in with a pretty gloss or a lip balm.

image2-1

Okay so that’s it for my BTS makeup look and essentials. I hope this was helpful for any of you going back to school and just remember to not stress too much about school as it won’t last forever!

Let me know about your BTS essentials in the comments below!

Until next time xx

Leave a Reply

